Editor // Erin Stalcup

 Erin Stalcup is the author of the story collection AND YET IT MOVES (Indiana University Press, 2016), and the novel EVERY LIVING SPECIES (Gold Wake Press, 2017). Her fiction has appeared in The Kenyon Review, The Sun, Hinchas de Poesía, and elsewhere, and her creative nonfiction was listed as a Notable Essay in The Best American Essays 2016. After teaching in community colleges, universities, and prisons in New York City, North Carolina, Texas, and Arizona, she now teaches in the MFA Program in Writing & Publishing at Vermont College of Fine Arts. You can read and hear some of her work at

2019 Guest Poetry Editor // Natalie Scenters-Zapico

Natalie Scenters-Zapico is a fronteriza from the sister cities of El Paso, Texas, U.S.A., and Cd. Juárez, Chihuahua, México. Her first book THE VERGING CITIES (Center for Literary Publishing 2015) won the PENAmerican/Joyce Osterweil Award, Great Lakes Colleges Association’s New Writers Award, NACCS Foco Book Prize, Utah Book Award, and was featured in Poets and Writers, LitHub, and the Los Angeles Times. LIMA : : LIMÓN, her second collection, is forthcoming (Copper Canyon Press Spring 2019). She has won fellowships from the Lannan Foundation (2017) and CantoMundo (2015). Her poems have appeared in a wide range of anthologies and literary magazines including Best American Poetry 2015, POETRY, Tin House, Kenyon Review, and more.

2019 Guest Children’s Lit Editor // Yamile Saied Méndez

Yamile (sha-MEE-lay) is a fútbol obsessed Argentine-American. She’s the mother of 5 kids and 2 adorable dogs. An inaugural Walter Dean Meyers Grant recipient, and a graduate of Voices of our Nations (VONA) and the Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA Writing for Children program, she’s the author of the forthcoming picture book WHERE ARE YOU FROM? (HarperCollins, 2019) and the middle grade novels BLIZZARD BESTIES (Scholastic 2019) andON THESE MAGIC SHORES (Tu Books/Lee and Low 2020). She’s represented by Linda Camacho at the Gallt & Zacker Literary Agency.

2019 Guest Prose Editor // James Scott

James Scott is the author of the national best-selling novel, THE KEPT, which was a finalist for the New England Book Award and an Amazon Best Debut of the Year. His short fiction can be found in various anthologies and journals such as One Story, Ploughshares, and American Short Fiction and earned several Pushcart Nominations. A frequent fellow at Yaddo, James has also received awards and residencies from the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, the Tin House Summer Writers Workshop, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, the Millay Colony, and the St. Botolph’s Foundation. He was an issue editor at One Story, and fiction editor and later managing editor of Redivider. Currently, he lives in Rhode Island, where he created and hosts the podcast TK with James Scott, where he interviews writers, editors, publishers, book sellers, designers, and agents. He is at work on his second novel, tentatively titled A FULL RESOLUTION.

2019 Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize Judge // Erika T. Wurth

Erika T. Wurth’s publications include a novel, CRAZY HORSE’S GIRLFRIEND, two collections of poetry, and a collection of short stories, BUCKSKIN COCAINE. Her novel YOU WHO ENTER HERE is forthcoming from SUNY. A writer of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, she teaches creative writing at Western Illinois University and has been a guest writer at the Institute of American Indian Arts. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in numerous journals including Boulevard, Drunken Boat, The Writer’s Chronicle, Waxwing, and The Kenyon Review. She is represented by Peter Steinberg. She is Apache/Chickasaw/Cherokee and was raised outside of Denver.

2019 Hunger Mountain Creative Nonfiction Prize Judge // Elissa Washuta

Elissa Washuta is a member of the Cowlitz Indian Tribe and a nonfiction writer. She is the author of STARVATION MODE and MY BODY IS A BOOK OF RULES, named a finalist for the Washington State Book Award. With Theresa Warburton, she is co-editor of the anthology SHAPES OF NATIVE NONFICTION: COLLECTED ESSAYS BY CONTEMPORARY WRITERS. She has received fellowships and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, Artist Trust, 4Culture, Potlatch Fund, and Hugo House. Elissa is an assistant professor of creative writing at the Ohio State University.

2019 Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult & Children’s Writing Judge // Monica Brown

Monica Brown is the award-winning author of super-awesome books for children, including The Lola Levine chapter bookseries, MARISOL McDONALD DOESN’T MATCH/no combinaFRIDA KAHLO AND HER ANIMALITOS, and WAITING FOR THE BIBLIOBURRO. She is a professor of English at Northern Arizona University, specializing in Latinx and African American literature. She lives in Flagstaff, Arizona with her husband and her dog.

2019 Ruth Stone Poetry Prize Judge // Natalie Diaz

Natalie Diaz was born and raised in the Fort Mojave Indian Village in Needles, California, on the banks of the Colorado River. She is Mojave and an enrolled member of the Gila River Indian Tribe. Her first poetry collection, WHEN MY BROTHER WAS AN AZTEC, was published by Copper Canyon Press. She is a Lannan Literary Fellow and a Native Arts Council Foundation Artist Fellow. She was awarded a Bread Loaf Fellowship, the Holmes National Poetry Prize, a Hodder Fellowship, and a PEN/Civitella Ranieri Foundation Residency, as well as being awarded a US Artists Ford Fellowship. Diaz teaches at the Arizona State University Creative Writing MFA program.

Managing Editor // Cameron Finch

Hunger Mountain Fellows // Dayton J Shafer & Cory Schwartz

Creative Nonfiction Assistant Editors // Kelsi Long & Nicholas Howard

Fiction Assistant Editors // Dayton J Shafer & Ukamaka Olisakwe

Poetry Assistant Editor // Rebecca Jamieson & Cory Schwartz

Children’s Literature Assistant Editors // Jordan Glynn, Tyler Glauz-Todrank, & Tracy Haught

Designer // Dana Lyons

Creative Nonfiction Manuscript Readers // Anne McGrath, Josiane Chriqui, Kate Tagai, Camilla Sanderson, Bianca Viñas, & Linda Murphy Marshall

Poetry Manuscript Readers //  Emily Vizzo, Lennie DeCerce, Adam Grabowski, Bethany Armstrong Breitland, Rebecca Irene,  Mary Foulk, Susan Ayres, & Pamela Murray Winters

Children’s Literature Manuscript Readers //  Jenn Bailey, Elizabeth Kuelbs, Kristy Everington, Galen Longstreth, Ann Malaspina, Sabrina Mock-Rossi, Jay Whistler, Kat Miller, Kathy Quimby, Denise Santomauro, Mae Pelster, Sharon Van Zandt, & Linda Washington

Fiction Manuscript Readers // Aaron Fentress, Anthony Caputa, Carolyn Ogburn, Chanel Dubofsky, Frank Richardson, Jean-Marie Saporito, Gwen Mullins, Kraig Pickel, Rebecca Ring, Warren Green, Shelley Elcovich, Jennifer Pun, Tara Potter, Amy Braun, Amy Mindell, Melissa Koss, Michael Carson, Julian Delfino, Peggy Carouthers, Marcie Friedman, Rhonda Zimlich, Abigail Pettit, Monica Lee Copeland, Suzanne Barefoot, Christa Guild, Laura Kujawa, Mariah Hopkins, & Valentyn Smith