The Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize, The Ruth Stone Poetry Prize, The Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing, The Hunger Mountain Creative Nonfiction Prize, & The International Young Writers Prize (new!) are open for submissions from October 1 to March 1.

For the first four categories, one first place winner receives $1,000 and online publication, & one runner-up receives $100 and online publication. Please follow our General Guidelines for each genre category. Please do not include your name or address on your submission—we read contest entries blind. You may enter more than one piece in each category, or separate pieces in multiple categories, but each entry needs its own entry fee. Simultaneous submissions are welcome, but please let us know within twenty-four hours if your work is accepted elsewhere, & please know that we can’t refund entry fees. You can read previous winners here.

We and the Guest Judges look forward to reading your best!

The Young Writers Prize is open to all high school writers, and all genres of creative writing: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and writing for children. Our goal is to foster the next generation of creative writers, and to encourage young people to make their voices heard.One winner will receive a $100 honorarium and online publication. Please follow our General Guidelines. This contest is judged by Hunger Mountain’s Assistant Editors.